South Africa vs Bangladesh Match 18-10-2017 01:00 PM PKT

Bangladesh Tigers in a Must-Win Situation


Bangladesh team is going in to the second match of the series 1-0 down with less experienced seam-bowling group that fail to take one wicket in the first match of the series. The highlight however for the Bangladesh team is their betterment in the batting department which is seen in Mushfiqur Rahim’s hundred at Kimberley. However, they can’t rely on him only to avoid the big margins losses in ODI’s as did happen in the Tests. Bangladesh team need a big turnaround in their performances in all the three departments of fielding, bowling, and batting to keep the series alive.

South Africa on the other hand will feel confident after their performance in the series opener in which they successfully chased down the target of 278 without losing a single wicket, and both their openers i.e., Quinton de Kock, and Hashim Amla scored centuries. This match is played on the ground which hosted few international matches till date, and therefore, South Africa will have the added advantage of their home conditions. Also, they are equipped with the match winners in the form of AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, and David Miller who were not even needed in the first match of the series, and their bowling group can take all 10 wickets in almost every match. Therefore, it will be a big test for the opposing team to beat a world class team like South Africa.

If Bangladesh bowling group can somehow take the wicket of Hashim Amla early, then, there is a slight chance they can test the South African team with their spin-bowling group. This tour so far has been very tough for Bangladesh team, but it is a very good chance for the touring team to redeem themselves and keep themselves from derailing in yet another series in South Africa.


The pitch is expected to be on the slower side with a little bit of turn.


I am fit, and feeling confident on my return in ODI’s, said Tamim Iqbal.



South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis (c), AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dane Paterson, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das (wk), Shakib al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mohammad Saifuddin, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here