Pakistan vs Sri Lanka, 4th ODI, 3:00 PM PKT

Desperate Sri Lanka look to end 10 match cold streak in ODI’s


Sri Lanka is already down 3-0 in the on-going ODI series against Pakistan and the loss in the third ODI marked their tenth consecutive loss in ODI’s. Sri Lanka won the toss twice in this series and tried chasing and defending the totals respectively. However, on both occasions they fail to end their cold streak in ODI’s.

Sri Lankan team has batting woes and none of their batsman other than the captain Upul Tharanga has been able to steady the Sri Lankan ship in the on-going ODI series. Upul Tharanga scored the only century from Sri Lanka in the second ODI of the series that was played at Sheikh Zayed cricket stadium, Abu Dhabi on October 16. Sri Lanka had their chances in the series to win, however, their inconsistent batting failed to capitalize. Their bowlers Suranga Lakmal and Lahiru Gamage has been performing consistently but their bowling group overall is very inexperienced with more than three bowlers played less than 12 international ODI’s each.

On the opposing side, Pakistan will feel much relaxed after sealing the series 3-0 in a five-match series. They might experiment with their playing XI of third ODI and could bring in Faheem Ashraf in place of Imad Wasim. Muhammad Hafeez who has been reported for the third time by ICC officials for his suspect bowling action will continue to bowl until his test results in 14 days’ time. His bowling is critical to the Pakistan bowling line up as he has conceded less than 5 runs per over and bowled more than 7 overs per game.

Pakistan will look to white-wash Sri Lanka in the remaining of the ODI matches but Sri Lanka will have to raise their game to beat Pakistan, and they certainly have the potential to do so.



“We are looking for a white-wash against Sri Lanka and we will repeat the performances of first three ODI’s in the remaining matches of the series, says Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed”.



Sharjah cricket stadium, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates.



Sri Lanka: Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Upul Tharanga (c), Chamara Kapugedera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Milinda Siriwardana, Thisara Perera, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lahiru Gamage

Pakistan: Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfraz Ahmed (c)(wk), Faheem Ashraf/Imad Wasim, Rumman Raees, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here