New Zealand eye away ODI series win


New Zealand is leading the ODI international series against India 1-0 and has a greater chance to seal the series by winning the second ODI international of the on-going series against India. New Zealand team practiced in the nets at Maharashtra Cricket Association stadium in Pune ahead of the second match. Top order batsmen were observed practicing the balls close to the wicket on the off-side and the full-length balls because of the tactics that were used by Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumra in the first ODI international of the series. Their batsmen were also observed practicing the spin from Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner as they are expected to be playing on a spin friendly wicket of Pune.

India in recent times are faced with this rare situation in which they must win the second ODI to keep the series alive and play again in the decider. Indian team didn’t play bad in the first ODI, however, were maneuvered well by New Zealand. Indian spinners were not penetrative enough and failed to take wickets in crucial moments of the game, but this was in complete contrast to their performances in the previous ODI’s. Indian batting group posted a total of 280 runs with the exceptional performance of the captain Virat Kohli who scored yet another century in ODI’s. None of the other Indian batsmen reached to a half century and everyone chipped in with low scores. However, the first ODI total was the highest chase by any team at Wankhede.

New Zealand team planned well against India in the first match of the series. Their batsmen used their feet against the Indian spinners and wasn’t afraid of hitting in the air. The second ODI will be a big test for New Zealand as the wicket is a spin friendly wicket and touring teams always had the problem of tackling spin on spin friendly pitches in India. India is surely expected to bounce back in to the second ODI of the series with a win and finally go for a decider in the third ODI of the series.


Maharashtra Cricket Association stadium, Pune


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav/Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Trent Boult


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here